One year and eight months ago, all I believed in, the fairytale romance, the idea of true love and happily ever after ceased to exist.

As a man, many would not think that we long not just to save the damsel in distress, but that she would in turn save us, from the Dragon named Loneliness,  from the oppression of rejection or even just ourselves. A hope that we could be happy being not The Lord of the manor but being the one to support and provide in unconditional love.

We have dreams too, many dreams that are all too often never to come true.

For me, that dream came true, for 13 years a bliss above bliss, but then it fell and crashed upon the ground, like Icarus, I flew too high towards the sun, the warmth and the light drew me, like a moth, but the wings came apart, and…. it was done.

I do not look for pitty, nor absolution,  I stopped looking for answer, stopped asking why. I just hope and pray and keep praying. I hope to somday greet my love at my door, telling me she wants to come home, with our children in tow, the bright eyed angels I was graced to love as a father does, and as I always will.

My tears never dry, but I am well with that, but I long to kiss her cheek, wish her pleasent dreams and to hold her as she sleeps, in my arms, protecting me from the monsters in the darkness.

Leave a Reply

